Jack Brabham is push started in his Brabham BT11A at Longford in 1965.  Copyright oldracephotos.com/Pat Smith.  Used with permission.

Tasman Cup 1965

Both champion Bruce Mclaren and his main rival Jack Brabham returned for 1965 but Team Lotus also joined in with a Lotus 32B for Jim Clark and the Scotsman ran away with the title, winning four of the seven races plus the non-championship race at Lakeside. McLaren in his new Cooper T79 and Brabham in a new Brabham BT11A each won one race, as did Graham Hill, guest-driving the Scuderia Veloce BT11A.

Of the locals, Australian expat Frank Gardner in Alec Mildren's BT11A and Jim Palmer in his private Brabham BT7A shared fourth in the championship with McLaren's teammate Phil Hill. Frank Matich still had his BT7A and still suffered unreliability, his only finish being third place at Warwick Farm. Brabhams filled seven of the top ten places in the championship table.

The races

09 Jan 1965 > New Zealand Grand Prix at Pukekohe

16 Jan 1965 > Levin International

23 Jan 1965 > Lady Wigram Trophy

30 Jan 1965 > Teretonga International at Teretonga Park

14 Feb 1965 > Warwick Farm "100"

21 Feb 1965 > Sandown Park Cup

01 Mar 1965 > Australian Grand Prix at Longford

07 Mar 1965 > Lakeside "99"

Tasman Cup events shown in bold

1965 Tasman Cup table

1Jim ClarkLotus 32B - Climax FPF35 pts4 wins
2Bruce McLarenCooper T79 - Climax FPF24 pts1 win
3Jack BrabhamBrabham BT11A - Climax FPF21 pts1 win
4=Frank GardnerBrabham BT11A - Climax FPF15 pts 
4=Phil HillCooper T70 - Climax FPF15 pts 
4=Jim PalmerBrabham BT7A - Climax FPF15 pts 
7Graham HillBrabham BT11A - Climax FPF14 pts1 win
8=Kerry GrantBrabham BT4 - Climax FPF5 pts 
8=Bib StillwellBrabham BT11A - Climax FPF5 pts 
10Frank MatichBrabham BT7A - Climax FPF4 pts 
11=John RileyLotus 18/21 - Climax FPF3 pts 
11=Rex FlowersLola Mk4A - Climax FPF3 pts 
13Roly Levis1.5-litre Brabham BT6 - Ford twin cam2 pts 
14Leo Geoghegan1.5-litre Lotus 32 - Ford twin cam1 pt 

Previous: the 1964 season

Next: the 1966 season

All cars are 2.5-litre Tasman formula cars unless otherwise noted.