John McCormack's Elfin MR5 at Sandown Park in 1975. Copyright oldracephotos.com/Neil Hammond. Used with permission.

Australian Gold Star 1975

Reigning champion Max Stewart and his close rival Kevin Bartlett both bought new Lola T400s for 1975, but found Lola's new design baffling during the Tasman series and retreated to their older T330/332 Lolas for the last two races. Both tried again with the T400s in the Gold Star series and Stewart won the Australian GP in atrocious conditions at Surfers Paradise, but that was the only win for either of them until Bartlett won the final race of the season. Their problems left the door ajar for John McCormack, whose Elfin MR6 had been fitted with the latest Holden engine and was now very reliable, allowing the veteran to put together a string of solid results and regain his title by just five points from Johnny Walker, who had wisely retained his older Lola T330/T332.

The find of the season was Bruce Allison, who had acquired Kevin Bartlett's Lola T332 and took pole position at the Grand Prix. He would move to the US and then British series in the next two seasons.

The races

31 Aug 1975 > Australian Grand Prix at Surfers Paradise

14 Sep 1975 > Marlboro 100 at Sandown Park

21 Sep 1975 > Radio 2JJ Gold Star race at Oran Park

19 Oct 1975 > TAA Gold Star race at Calder

28 Nov 1975 > Phillip Island Classic Cup

1975 Australian Gold Star table

1John McCormackElfin MR6 - Repco Holden V827 pts2 wins
2Johnnie WalkerLola T330/T332 - Repco Holden V822 pts1 win
3Max StewartLola T400 - Chevrolet V819 pts1 win
4Kevin BartlettLola T400 - Chevrolet V817 pts1 win
5John LefflerBowin P8 - Chevrolet V814 pts 
6Bruce AllisonLola T332 - Chevrolet V86 pts 
7=Paul BernasconiLola T400 - Chevrolet V84 pts 
7=Ray Winter(ANF2) 1.6-litre Mildren - Ford twin cam4 pts 
9=Chris MiltonMcLaren M18/M22 - Chevrolet V83 pts 
9=Enno Buesselman(ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 622 - Ford twin cam3 pts 

Previous: the 1974 season

Next: the 1976 season

All cars are 5-litre ANF1 (F5000) cars unless otherwise noted.