Max Stewart in his Lola T330 at Phillip Island in 1974.  Copyright oldracephotos.com/Neil Hammond. Used with permission.

Australian Gold Star 1974

Although grid sizes remained small, an influx of new hardware improved Australian F5000 in 1974. Kevin Bartlett, Warwick Brown and Kiwi Graeme Lawrence all had new Lola T332s, and defending champion John McCormack had an Elfin MR6, but it was Max Stewart in his well-travelled Lola T330 that had proved to be the best of the locals in the 1974 Tasman series, winning two races, and he continued his good form into the Gold Star series, winning the first five races, including the Australian GP. Bartlett was his closest competitor, as he had been when Stewart last won the title in 1971, but this time his only victory was in the final race of the season.

The Leyland P76 engine in the Elfin MR6 proved unable to match the power of the heavier Holden unit, so McCormack's season was ruined. A couple of the old Matich A51s reappeared, one in the hands of Italian F1 driver Lella Lombardi, who proved impressively competitive.

The races

04 Aug 1974 > Oran Park

01 Sep 1974 > Surfers Paradise

20 Oct 1974 > Calder

03 Nov 1974 > Victoria Trophy at Sandown Park

17 Nov 1974 > Australian Grand Prix at Oran Park

23 Nov 1974 > Phillip Island

1974 Australian Gold Star table

1Max StewartLola T330 - Chevrolet V851 pts5 wins
2Kevin BartlettLola T332 - Chevrolet V825 pts1 win
3Phil MooreElfin MR5 - Repco Holden V816 pts 
4Garrie CooperElfin MR5 - Repco Holden V811 pts 
5John McCormackElfin MR5 - Repco Holden V8
Elfin MR6 - Leyland P76 V8
8 pts 
6=John Leffler(ANF2) 1.6-litre Bowin P8 - Ford twin cam7 pts 
6=Jon DavisonMatich A50 - Repco Holden V87 pts 
8Warwick BrownLola T332 - Chevrolet V86 pts 
9=John GossMatich A53 - Repco Holden V85 pts 
9=Kurt Seeberg(ANF2) 1.6-litre Brabham BT35 - Ford twin cam5 pts 

Previous: the 1973 season

Next: the 1975 season

All cars are 5-litre ANF1 (F5000) cars unless otherwise noted.