Inaugural champion Patrick Tambay in the Carl Haas Lola T333CS at Road America in 1977.  Copyright Glenn Snyder 2009.  Used with permission.

Single-Seat Can-Am Champions

During Can-Am's most International period, from 1977 to 1981, the championship hosted two future World Champions in Alan Jones and Keke Rosberg as well as star racing drivers such as Jacky Ickx and Patrick Tambay. It then became a stepping stone into CART, with Al Unser Jr, Bobby Rahal and Danny Sullivan passing through on their way to Indy 500 victory.

Year Champion Car
1977 Patrick Tambay Lola T333CS
1978 Alan Jones Lola T333CS
1979 Jacky Ickx Lola T333CS
1980 Patrick Tambay Lola T530
1981 Geoff Brabham Lola T530 & VDS 001
1982 Al Unser Jr Frissbee GR2 & GR3
1983 Jacques Villeneuve Sr Frissbee GR2 & GR3
1984 Michael Roe VDS 002 & 004
1985 Rick Miaskiewicz Frissbee GR3
1986 Horst Kroll Frissbee KR3 (Lola T330 HU2)

In this web site we attempt to fully chronicle the cars of the Single-Seat Can-Am. Please help us by contributing any additional information: email Allen at allen@oldracingcars.com.