Formula Atlantic 1986

In 1986, Formula Atlantic in North America was still divided into two regional series either side of the Rockies:

Of the other related championships running elsewhere in the world, Formula Mondial was still in use in Australia but was about to be phased out and replaced with Australian Formula 2 for 1987. Graham Watson won the last Formula Mondial Australian Drivers' Championship, predictably in a Ralt RT4. Formula Pacific also continued in New Zealand, where American FSV driver Jeff MacPherson took the International series. The South African national championship was also in the last season of its Mazda-powered championship and Wayne Taylor won the final title in yet another Ralt RT4. The Japanese Formula Pacific title had been wound up after 1982 and the British Formula Atlantic series after 1983.