Formula Atlantic 1987

In 1987, Formula Atlantic in North America was still divided into two regional series either side of the Rockies:

The related category of Formula Pacific was still in use in New Zealand, where Mike Thackwell took the International series and Ken Smith took his habitual Gold Star title. The South African national championship had finished after 1986, the main Australian single-seater series had moved to Australian Formula 2 the same year, the Japanese Formula Pacific title had been wound up after 1982, and the British Formula Atlantic series after 1983.