The Formula Super Vee grid at Mosport in September 1975. Copyright Peter Viccary.  Used with permission.

US Formula Super Vee 1975

Lola remained the most successful marque in 1975, with 164 starts to the 73 of Royale and 72 of Tui/Supernova. The most common models were Lola's latest T324 followed at some distance by the new Royale RP19, the preceding three Lola models (T320, T322 and T252) and then the new Supernova Tui BH5.

Eddie Miller won five of the 11 races in his Carl Haas Lola T324 and Howdy Holmes and Herm Johnson also won for Lola. Three of the other four races fell to the ex-Ingle Zink of Tom Bagley with the Laguna Seca race being won by the Elden Mk14 of Fred Philips. Bobby Rahal managed a couple of podium finishes in his Bill Scott Racing Royale RP19, as did Bob Lazier in his Fred Opert Racing Supernova Tui. Scott also entered the ex-Elliot Forbes-Robinson Lynn 001 in which Jon Batchelor finished second at Daytona in February. Two European FSV champions made an appearance: Keke Rosberg was sixth at Watkins Glen in October in the Opert Supernova Tui and Mikko Kozarowitzky was sixth at Daytona a month later in his ATS Lola.

As well as the aforementioned Haas, Bunce, Bill Scott, Zink and Opert teams, other leading outfits included Ray Heppenstall's Lola for Richard Melville and Len Miller's Viceroy-backed Lola for Benny Scott.

The races

01 Feb 1975 > Daytona

21 Mar 1975 > Sebring International Raceway

20 Apr 1975 > Road Atlanta

04 May 1975 > Laguna Seca

10 May 1975 > Riverside

26 May 1975 > Lime Rock

13 Jul 1975 > Watkins Glen

23 Aug 1975 > Road America

21 Sep 1975 > Mosport Park

04 Oct 1975 > Watkins Glen

30 Nov 1975 > Daytona

1975 Robert Bosch/VW Super Vee Championship table

1Eddie MillerLola T324 - VW118 pts5 wins
2Tom BagleyZink Z11 - VW Bagley110 pts3 wins
3Howdy HolmesLola T322 - VW Bunce
Lola T324 - VW Bunce
97 pts1 win
4Richard MelvilleRoyale RP18 - VW
Lola T324 - VW Heidegger
82 pts 
5Bob LazierSupernova Tui BH5 - VW Bunce
Lola T324 - VW Bunce
64 pts 
6Fred PhillipsElden Mk14 - VW Milner-Scott
Elden Mk14B - VW Milner-Scott
53 pts1 win
7Benny ScottLola T324 - VW Bertils51 pts 
8Herm A. JohnsonLola T324 - VW38 pts1 win
9Billy McConnellTui BH5 - VW Quicksilver37 pts 
10Bill AlsupTui BH3 - VW Zeitler
Lola T324 - VW Bertils
34 pts