The Formula Super Vee field at Road America in 1980.  Copyright Mark Windecker 2015.  Used with permission.

Robert Bosch/VW Super Vee Championship

As Formula Vee had been the SCCA's most numerically viable single-seater category, at least until the appearance of Formula Ford as a class in 1969, the huge US club was keen on introducing FV's big brother when it was announced in 1970. As well as being an SCCA class an National level in 1970, the SCCA introduced a Pro series in 1971, which was well contested by Lolas and Royales. The original combination of air-cooled engines and space-frame chassis changed in 1978 with the introduction of a watercooled engine and monocoque chassis. This raised the series to the same technical level as Formula Atlantic, and a number of FSV drivers were successful at a higher level, notably Geoff Brabham moving into Can-Am in 1980, and Al Unser Jr following him two years later.

In 1982, FSV became CART's regular support series and it thrived as Formula Atlantic fell apart in 1983 and Can-Am went steadily downhill from 1983 onwards. But despite its brief purple patch in the mid-1980s before Formula Atlantic revived, Super Vee's ability to generate new talent faltered after Arie Luyendijk's title win in 1984. In 1986, it was joined on CART's undercard by the American Racing Series, which relegated FSV one rung on the development ladder. With other single-seater racing categories being introduced all the time, notably Barber Saab and Russell Mazda, FSV was struggling to retain its relevance as the 1980s came to a close. There was a plan to move to F3 chassis over the five-year period, but Volkswagen pulled the plug before that could happen. 1990 was FSV's last season.

The 1975 season: Daytona, Sebring, Road Atlanta, Laguna Seca, Riverside, Lime Rock, Watkins Glen, Road America, Mosport Park, Watkins Glen, Daytona

The 1980 season: Charlotte, Milwaukee, Pocono, Watkins Glen I, Mid-Ohio, Road America, Brainerd, Minnesota State Fair I, Minnesota State Fair II, Ontario, Michigan, Watkins Glen II, Riverside, Phoenix

The 1981 season: Charlotte, Milwaukee, Watkins Glen, Road America, Brainerd, Milwaukee, Michigan, Riverside, Phoenix

The 1982 season: Phoenix I, Charlotte, Detroit, Milwaukee I, Road America, Milwaukee II, Mosport Park, Michigan, Riverside, Laguna Seca, Phoenix II

The 1983 season: Long Beach, Mosport Park, Milwaukee, Cleveland, Road America, Pocono, Mid-Ohio, Michigan, Riverside, Laguna Seca, Phoenix

The 1984 season: Long Beach, Phoenix, Milwaukee, Portland, Meadowlands, Cleveland, Road America, Watkins Glen, Trois-Rivières, Michigan, Laguna Seca, Caesars Palace

The 1985 season: Long Beach, Indianapolis Raceway Park, Milwaukee, Detroit, Meadowlands, Cleveland, Road America, Watkins Glen, Mid-Ohio, Sanair, Laguna Seca, Phoenix.

The 1986 season: Long Beach, Indianapolis Raceway Park, Milwaukee, Detroit, Meadowlands, Cleveland, Road America I, Mid-Ohio, Road America II, Laguna Seca, Phoenix, Tamiami Park, St Petersburg

The 1987 season: Long Beach, Phoenix, Indianapolis Raceway Park, Milwaukee, Detroit, Meadowlands, Cleveland, Road America, Mid-Ohio, Pennsylvania International Raceway, Tamiami Park, St Petersburg

All results and car histories compiled by Chris Townsend.

Please email Allen if you have any material on US or European FSV race results.