SCCA Formula A national champions 1966-1978

1966 Harry McIntosh Brabham BT7 [F1-2-63]
1967 Chuck Kirkbride Lotus 18/21 [372]
1968 Ron Grable Spectre HR-1
1969 Peter Rehl Cooper T90 [F1C/3.69]
1970 Dave Heinz Lola T142
1971 Jerry Hansen Lola T192 [HU23]
1972 Jerry Hansen Lola T300
1973 Jerry Hansen Lola T330 [HU14]
1974 Jerry Hansen Lola T330 [HU14]
1975 Jerry Hansen Lola T330 [HU14]
1976 Jerry Hansen Lola T330 [HU14]
1977 No winner declared (see below)
1978 Stuart Forbes-Robinson Lola 'T330'


  • For a long time, the SCCA listed Larry Skeels as the 1965 national champion but he was actually the Formula C (1100cc) champion that year. Contemporary reports say that there were no starters in FA in 1965.
  • In 1977, only two cars practiced at the US national finals, Dan Johnson's Chevron B24 and Mike Rounds' Lotus 70. Johnson failed to start and Rounds didn't even manage a lap. As the SCCA require two cars to constitute a class, no winner was declared.