The start of the F5000 Tasman Cup revival Series race at the 2009 FORMULA 1T ING Australian Grand Prix meeting in Melbourne.  Copyright Fast Company/Alex Mitchell 2009.  Used with permission.

HRC Tasman Revival 2008/09

The growing profile of the F5000 Tasman Revival series was finally rewarded in March 2009 with a support race at the Australian Grand Prix meeting. This drew a huge field of 32 cars, including 18 New Zealanders, nine Australians, four from England including three members of the Lyons family, and a solitary American. Ten constructors were represented, and the models of car ranged from the Begg FM2 of 1969 to the Elfin MR8 of 1977.

Chris Hyde only appeared at the opening race of the 2008/09 season, leaving Kenny Smith to win most of the races from then on. He was challenged by Canadian Jay Esterer who had brought a McRae GM1 with him and won a race at the Lady Wigram Trophy meeting, and also by Englishman Mark Dwyer, who had brought over his Lola T400. Other new cars in 2009 included the Elfins of Tony Floreani (MR5), Paul Trevethan (MR6) and Ken James (MR8); and a Lola T332 raced by Ian Clements that remains sadly unidentified.

The races

09 Nov 2008 > VHRR Historic Sandown at Sandown Park

30 Nov 2008 > Tasman Revival meeting at Eastern Creek

18 Jan 2009 > Lady Wigram Trophy at Ruapana Park

25 Jan 2009 > Tasman Cup Revival Series race at Pukekohe

01 Feb 2009 > Tasman Cup Revival Series race at Taupo Motorsport Park

29 Mar 2009 > Australian Grand Prix support race at Albert Park

2008-2009 F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series table

1Ken SmithLola T430 - Chevrolet V8398 pts 
2Tony RichardsLola T332 - Chevrolet V8318 pts 
3Aaron BursonTalon MR-1A - Chevrolet V8266 pts 
4Stan RedmondLola T332 - Chevrolet V8232 pts 
5Sefton GibbLola T332 - Chevrolet V8230 pts 
6Ian ClementsLola T332 - Chevrolet V8228 pts 
7David AbbottLola T430 - Chevrolet V8137 pts 
8Mark DwyerLola T400 - Chevrolet V8117 pts 
9Stuart LushMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V8110 pts 
10Jay EstererMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V8100 pts 
11Roger WilliamsLola T332 - Chevrolet V899 pts 
12Aaron LewisChevron B24 - Chevrolet V8
Matich A50 - Repco Holden V8
96 pts 
13Andrew RobsonLola T332 - Chevrolet V875 pts 
14Bruce LeesonMcLaren M10B - Chevrolet V872 pts 
15Tony RobertsMcLaren M22 - Chevrolet V864 pts 
16Frank LyonsBegg 018 - Chevrolet V8
Lola T332 - Chevrolet V8
53 pts 
17Poul ChristieLola T190 - Ford V850 pts 
18Alastair RussellMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V850 pts 
19Hamish PatersonChevron B32 - Chevrolet V838 pts 
20Ken JamesElfin MR8-C - Chevrolet V836 pts 

Although Chris Hyde won the feature race at the opening round, he does not appear in the pionts table. According to official points keeper Tony Richards, Hyde was standing in for Stuart Lush who was unwell, so was not eligible for points.

Most events

A total of 29 F5000 Tasman Revival events had taken place by the end of this season. The drivers who had taken part in the most were as follows.

Stan Redmond28
David Abbott25
Ian Clements24
Poul Christie24
Stuart Lush23