Bryan Sala in his Matich A50/51 leads Bill Hemming (Elfin MR8 A-C) and Paul Zazryn (Lola T332) at Teretonga in February 2013.  Copyright Alex Mitchell 2013.  Used with permission.

HRC Tasman Revival 2012/13

The season started earlier than usual as a race had been arranged at Sydney Motorsport Park (the former Eastern Creek) in September supporting the "Australian Muscle Car Masters". That drew a good field of 18, with Kiwi Steve Ross winning two races after Aussie Bryan Sala had taken pole and won the opener. Another good field of 14 was on hand for the Lady Wigram Trophy in October, where Ross was dominant, taking pole by 1.5 seconds and winning all three races. VHRR Historic Sandown had a race for F5000s but it was not part of the Revival series, and only seven cars turned up, with Andrew Robson just beating Paul Zazryn in the feature race. Two weeks later an "official" non-championship race was held at Sydney Motorsport Park with Kiwi support and 17 were present, with Robson again taking the spoils on home soil after Greg Thornton retire his ex-Stuart Lush McRae.

The NZ Festival of Motor Racing at Hampton Downs was a double header over two weekends, with Kenny Smith in his newly-rebuilt Lola T332, Steve Ross in his regular McRae, and Clark Proctor in the March 73A proving the quickest runners. Proctor then beat Ross and another large field at the Skope Classic, before the season ended at the Teretonga's Classic Speed Fest in February, where Proctor won the feature race from an on-form Andrew Higgins in his Lola T400. Proctor's late-season flourish lifted him to second place in the championship, but Ross easily retained his title.

The races

02 Sep 2012 > Australian Muscle Car Masters support race at Sydney Motorsport Park

28 Oct 2012 > Lady Wigram Trophy at Ruapana Park

11 Nov 2012 > VHRR Historic Sandown at Sandown Park

25 Nov 2012 > Tasman Revival meeting at Sydney Motorsport Park

20 Jan 2013 > NZ Festival of Motor Racing at Hampton Downs

27 Jan 2013 > NZ Festival of Motor Racing at Hampton Downs

03 Feb 2013 > Skope Classic at Ruapana Park

17 Feb 2013 > Classic Speed Fest at Teretonga Park

MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series events shown in bold

2012-2013 MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series table

1Steve RossMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V8649 pts 
2Clark ProctorMarch 73A - Chevrolet V8493 pts 
3David BanksTalon MR1 - Chevrolet V8424 pts 
4Ken SmithLola T332 - Chevrolet V8377 pts 
5Gregory ThorntonChevron B24 - Chevrolet V8355 pts 
6=Bryan SalaMatich A50/A51 - Chevrolet V8336 pts 
6=Paul ZazrynLola T332 - Chevrolet V8336 pts 
8Aaron BursonMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V8327 pts 
9Alan DunkleyLola T140 - Chevrolet V8289 pts 
10David AbbottLola T430 - Chevrolet V8262 pts 
11Russell GreerLola T332 - Chevrolet V8257 pts 
12Mike WhatleySurtees TS8 - Chevrolet V8218 pts 
13Brett WillisLola T330 - Chevrolet V8211 pts 
14Bill HemmingElfin MR8A-C - Chevrolet V8210 pts 
15Peter SundbergLola T332 - Chevrolet V8195 pts 
16Peter DunnMarch 73A - Chevrolet V8183 pts 
17Peter BursonMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V8167 pts 
18Ian ClementsLola T332 - Chevrolet V8162 pts 
19=Rodney CarrollLola T140 - Chevrolet V8151 pts 
19=Stan RedmondLola T333CS/T332 - Chevrolet V8151 pts 

In March 2013, the Phillip Island Classic meeting only had a race for "Groups Q & R, & Formula 5000", including six F5000s plus assorted F2, F/Holden, F/Pacific and Indy cars.

Most events

A total of 53 F5000 Tasman Revival events had taken place by the end of the 2012/13 season. The drivers who had taken part in the most were as follows.

Stan Redmond42
Ian Clements41
David Abbott40
Aaron Burson40
Poul Christie34
Ken Smith32