MidWest Division SCCA Formula B 1969

A relative backwater for Formula B, the Mid West Division was won for the second successive season by Gene Forsthofel in a Formula Ford Lotus 51. Not far behind was Warren Flickinger in a mystery Chevron, one that can't easily be accounted for by known movements of those cars.

The quickest car in the division may well have been Matt Spitzley's ex-Tasman Brabham BT21B which had picked up 9 pts in its extradivisional travels.

Final standings

1. Gene Forsthofel Lotus 51 Kansas City 33 pts *
2. Warren Flickinger Chevron Colorado 27 pts
3. Harvey Woodward Lotus 51 Kansas City 24 pts
4. Philo Hatch Lola NEOkla 11 pts
5. J. Ellingson Lotus Colorado 10 pts
6. Norm Harvey Blitzwagen Rio Grande 9 pts
7. R. Mathew Spitzley Brabham (BT21B) Colorado 9 pts *
8. K. (Keith) Saunders Lotus (41) Rio Grande 6 pts *
9. Robert Schutt Lotus 51 St Louis 6 pts
10. Tom McEntire Cooper Special Kansas City 4 pts

* Indicates total includes points earned out of home divisions.

Keith Saunders also appeared in the SouthWest Division table, the pointskeepers apparently being unsure which division owned the Rio Grande Region.

1969 Schedule

20 Apr 1969Stuttgart AirportArkansas Region
04 May 1969Shelby County International RacewayMid South Region
06 Jul 1969Ponca CityOklahoma Region
27 Jul 1969Lake GarnettKansas City Region
02 Aug 1969Continental DivideRio Grande Region
17 Aug 1969Lake AftonWichita Region
21 Sep 1969Mid-America RacewaySt Louis Region
12 Oct 1969War BonnetNortheast Oklahoma Region

Midwest Division sources

Race results for Midwest Division Nationals from 1970 to 1978 have been kindly provided by veteran MiDiv historian Rocky Entriken. We also have some background information from Competition Press up to about 1973, when its interest in such events waned considerably, but we know little of the goings-on away from these events and are are keen to acquire or borrow 1960s, 1970s and 1980s copies of SCCA regional publications from this Division. The key ones are:

  • Checkpoint (Kansas City Region)
  • Course Record (Arkansas Region)
  • The Echo (Southern Illinois Region)
  • Exhaust Notes (Nebraska) - full archive available at nrsccahistory.com.
  • Gasket Gazette (Oklahoma Region)
  • Neokla Observer (NE Oklahoma Region), renamed Sports Car Observer in 1980
  • The Offside Undo (Kansas Region)
  • Redline (Colorado Region)
  • Steerin’ Column (Mid-South Region)
  • Wheelspin (St. Louis Region)
  • Witches Wail (Wichita Region)

We are also keen to get scans of entry lists from SCCA Nationals for this division.